Four European countries—the Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland and the Czech Republic—are expelling Russian diplomats, with the Netherlands and Belgium citing threats to national security, they said Tuesday, following similar moves by the United States and other Western countries as Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has increased security concerns.

Key Facts

- Advertisement -

The Dutch government said Tuesday it is kicking out 17 Russian intelligence officers, who were accredited as diplomats, over a “threat to national security” given “the current attitude of Russia,” the Associated Press reported,

Belgium’s Foreign Affairs Ministry told Reuters and AP Tuesday it is expelling 21 Russians accredited as diplomats, alleging espionage activities and security threats.

Simon Coveney, the Irish foreign affairs minister, said in a statement Tuesday four senior Russian officials have been told to leave Ireland because “their activities have not been in accordance with international standards of diplomatic behaviour.”

The Czech Republic’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs said it has informed the Russian Embassy in Prague of the decision to expel one Russian “diplomatic staff,” adding the Czech Republic was joining its allies in scaling back Russian intelligence officers in the European Union.

Credit: /

- Advertisement -