Top Line

On Sunday, cases of the new Kovid-19 variant Omicron were reported in Australia and the Netherlands, while the United Kingdom third case detected – The latest countries to confirm the presence of a new form of coronavirus as case numbers rise across the world.

important facts

- Advertisement -

Dutch Health Authority said 13 people who arrived from Amsterdam on Friday South Africa – where Omicron was first detected – tested positive for the variant.

Two cases each have also been reported in Australia and Denmark. Reuters,

They join a growing list of nations that have made an Omicron presence, Including Botswana, Belgium, Germany, Israel, Italy, Hong Kong and the Czech Republic.

Many countries and regions have taken initiatives travel ban from southern Africa in response to the emergence of omicrons, including Canada and the European Union (US.) Sanctions announced by the Biden administration will take effect Monday).

South African officials in return complained The country is being “punished” instead of “applause” for detecting omicrons, and the travel ban is “akin to punishing South Africa for its advanced genomic sequencing and ability to rapidly detect new variants.” “

- Advertisement -