Top Line

The United Kingdom has diagnosed two people to be infected with the new coronavirus variant Omicron, prompting the country to restrict travel along with four more African countries, the health secretary said on Saturday, as nations around the world Have moved to ban travel from the continent. Due to concerns over the new form of the deadly virus.

important facts

- Advertisement -

UK Health Secretary Sajid Javid said two cases in Essex and Nottingham were “connected”According to the BBC report, the authorities conducted further contact tracing of the two people.

Javid said four African countries – Angola, Mozambique, Malawi and Zambia – have been added to Britain’s travel red list, which already includes six southern African countries, South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini.

Those entering the UK from ten countries are required to undergo a 10-day quarantine at a hotel starting Sunday.

The new Omicron variant, which was first spotted in South Africa, Identified in Belgium, Botswana, Hong Kong and Israel.

In the Netherlands, health officials said on Saturday they were conducting further tests 61 passengers who tested positive for Covid among 600 travelers from southern Africa to test whether they have contracted Omicron, Reuters reports.

in health officials Germany And this czech republic said they were each investigating a suspected case of Omicron in their countries, the Guardian reports.


- Advertisement -